Fly Me to the Moon

Gray colored hair,
a striped pocket shirt,
Gap jeans with white Rockports,
and yellow pound cake for dessert.

It’s been 8 years since you passed,
forever an unfathomable loss,
your heart had failed,
and silenced your voice.

You’re going to miss everything,
I’m not even sure what that is,
but you’re missing this part,
the part I thought,
would never again exist.

It sucks that I can’t show you,
my ID badge,
or the PowerPoint presentation,
I gave to that class.

Or tell you I’m now the project manager,
“Special Projects” to be exact,
and that totally unrelated,
I have a blog,
where I kinda talk smack.

I don’t know if you can read this,
from up above,
but I miss you dad,
from your daughter,
with love.

About Blinded by Bukowski

30-something female with a pen and a piano. Reading between the lines, sometimes skipping a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fly Me to the Moon

  1. Irene says:

    This was beautiful. I’m sure your dad read it and is quite proud of you.

    Like

  2. Lisa says:

    Beautiful post. He is looking down on you and is so proud.
    Xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

