Cold Play

Last Christmas,
I gave him a Ninja Turtle ornament,
because he invited me over,
and I felt I should show up with something,
besides my musical ability,
and manic state.

We had been impromptu jamming,
on and off,
for months,
because I was alone,
and he was lonely.

He wrote songs,
they were really good,
and though his lyrics were simple,
he definitely was not.

He had a synthesizer,
there were only 61 keys,
27 fewer,
than the 88 I’m used to,
but it didn’t matter,
none of this did,
and inevitably,
that’s what mattered.

About Blinded by Bukowski

30-something female with a pen and a piano. Reading between the lines, sometimes skipping a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cold Play

  1. david ferraro says:

    One of my favorites. Truly.

    And thanks to you, started reading some Bukowski. Love him.

    Happy holidays.

    Sent from my iPhone

    Like

  2. Linda Scholz says:

    A+- I don’t know how you do it. I think you’re saying short comings don’t matter,just the over all connection. How true. I’m waiting here on pins and needles. Let me know when it happens.

    On Sun, Dec 25, 2016 at 5:24 PM, Blinded by Bukowski wrote:

    > Blinded by Bukowski posted: “Last Christmas, I gave him a Ninja Turtle > ornament, because I felt I should show up with something, besides my > musical ability, and manic state. We had been impromptu jamming, on and > off, for months, because I was alone, and he was lonely. He wrote song” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

