Dunkin Do-Nots

Sitting in Dunkin,
with coffee and a book,
when a 30-something guy approaches,
says, “He likes how I look”.

I smile,
say thank you,
attempt to return to my page,
but am ambushed with questions,
from a guy who should know better by his age.

“Married?
Have kids?
What do you do?
Have a boyfriend (or girlfriend)?
Is your cell phone new?”

Totally uncomfortable,
now providing amusement for the next table,
getting hit on is less flattering,
when the guy is socially unstable.

Not about to chug my coffee,
or surrender my seat,
I reply rather bluntly,
not missing a beat.

“Kids and marriage,
yet to be known.
My cell is crap,
I need a new phone.
I’ve had boyfriends, no girlfriends,
I don’t swing both ways.
You asked what I do,
here’s how I spend my days…

I’m a writer,
a blogger,
and during the next hour or two,
the subject of my next post,
will undoubtedly be about you!

About Blinded by Bukowski

30-something female with a pen and a piano. Reading between the lines, sometimes skipping a few.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dunkin Do-Nots

  1. LOL Henry Rollins. Awesome.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Archon's Den says:

    I follow an author who displays a mug which says, “Be kind, or you could end up in my novel.” 😯

    Like

  3. Linda Scholz says:

    Maybe we should wear a suit of armor that says creeps need not apply. Oh wait a minute they don’t realize they are undesirable . If all else fails wear bug spray.

    On Mon, Aug 22, 2016 at 2:08 PM, Blinded by Bukowski wrote:

    > Blinded by Bukowski posted: “Sitting in Dunkin, with coffee and a book, > when a 30-something guy approaches, says, “He likes how I look”. I smile, > say thank you, attempt to return to my page, but am ambushed with > questions, from a guy who should know better by his age. “Married? H” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

